

Name:

Chess Club Observer

Newsletter of the Springfield Chess Club Spring 2023 -- Vol. 26, No. 2

President: Leonard Ferguson Vice President: Morgan Scheer Secretary: Josh Turner Treasurer: David Long
Publicity Director: Jimmie Cecil
http://www.springfieldchessclub.com

☐ \$12 Regular ☐ \$5 Scholastic

Near-Record Turnout at March Tournament

The club held its most recent tournament on March 25, at the Southern View Village Hall. 56 players entered; this was the second-highest turnout in the club's modern (post-1991) history. Only a 2001 tournament with 59 entries drew more.

Aaron Jing and Jason Shi won all four of their games and tied for first place overall. With 3½ points, Peter Michlik and Nathan Dornfeld tied for first in the Class A-B division, and Shrimidhin Senthilkumar won the Class C-D division with the same score.

Andrew Riggs and Nikhil Baman scored 3 points and won the lower division. They were closely followed by Jad Arab, Shrihan Aleti, and Shrijit Senthilkumar, all of whom had 2½ points. Joseph Austin was the first unrated player, with 3 points. Matthew Fraser, Daniel Lyman, DaJuan Brown, Noah Leichty, and Heather Godsil were next in that division, with 2 points.

There were a total of fourteen first-time participants. Besides the ones named above, the club would like to recognize Shreya Aleti, Nolan Bober, Theodore Michlik, Victor Michlik, Andrea Palivos, Sam Shaw, Kannan Srinisavan, and Dillon Vannaken for their first tournament.

Complete results of the tournament are on page 2.

Next Tournament July 1

Our next tournament will be held Saturday, July 1, at the Southern View Village Hall, 3410 S. 5th St. Registration ends at 9:45; round times are 10, 1, 3:30, and 6, with a lunch break after round 1. Entry fee is \$17 in advance, \$20 on site, with a \$2 discount to SCC members. Prize fund is \$400 based on 30 paid entries. Mark your calendars today!

Welcome New Members! Andrew Merluzzi, of Chatham, has joined the Springfield Chess Club. Welcome to the club! Membership now stands at 22.

Special thanks to Jim Craft, for the donation of his late brother's chess sets.

-
Come join us! The Springfield Chess Club meets weekly on Wednesday evenings, 5:30-8 p.m. at the
White Oaks Mall food court, and on the third Friday of each month, 6:30-8:30 p.m. at Harvest Market in
West White Oaks Plaza. Meetings are canceled on holidays when the hosting facility is closed. At other
times, try the online Springfield Chess Club at https://www.chess.com/club/springfield-chess-club-1 .
SCC memberships expire on December 31 (regular) or June 30 (scholastic). If your membership is expiring (check your mailing label), please renew today! To renew, return this stub and a check payable to Springfield Chess Club to:
Springfield Chess Club, c/o David Long, 401 S. Illinois St., Springfield, Ill. 62704. Include any changes to your contact
information. New members, please use the full page forms available at: www.springfieldchessclub.com/join.htm .

Complete Results, March 25, 2023

	Complete i	(CSGICS)		. •	,		
Rank	Name	Rating	Rd 1			Rd 4	Total
1	Aaron Jing	2042	W31	W18	W11	W4	4
2	Peter Michlik	1819	W29	W24	W23	D9	3½
3	Bill Smythe	1800	L30	D48	L22	W42	1½
4	Scott Nelson	1736	W32	W26	W35	L1	3
5	Martin Franek	1700	W34	L23	W27	HALF	2½
6	Bruce Michel	1670	L35	W38	D28	W36	2½
7	John Slattery	1640	W37	D25	D45	L23	2
8	Jason Shi	1626	W38	W28	W43	W13	4
9	Nathan Dornfeld	1624	W39	W27	W50	D2	3½
10	James Healy	1603	W40	L43	W29	L26	2
11	Varun Gurramkonda	1566	W41	W30	L1	W35	3
12	Jimmie Cecil	1505	L43	W39	L30	W34	2
13	Brooks Sonethongkham	1466	W44	D45	W25	L8	2½
14	Justin Larson	1417	L45	W40	W31	D30	2½
15	Srikar Jayam	1396	W33	D47	W49	L16	2½
16	Shrimidhin Senthilkumar	1390	W46	D49	W47	W15	3½
17	Mahendra Lavanur	1330	W36	L50	W33	W43	3
18	Gautham Ramkumar	1240	W42	L1	W32	W50	3
19	Kevin Shi	1158	L47	W41	W34	L45	2
20	Joseph Johnson	1143	D48	L35	L44	W39	1½
21	Jade Bates	1120	L49	W42	D36		1½
22	Maverick Powell	1052	L50	D44	W3	D47	2
23	Andrew Riggs	1034	W51	W5	L2	W7	3
24	Brian Clodfelter	1025	W52	L2	L37	W46	2
25	Jad Arab	999	W53	D7	L13	W44	2½
26	Nikhil Baman	901	W54	L4	W48	W10	3
27	Koltyn Rakes	859	W55	L9	L5	W38	2
28	Shrihan Aleti	832	W56	L8	D6	W49	2½
29	Peyton Williams	810	L2	W46	L10	W56	2
30	Shrijit Senthilkumar	797	W3	L11	W12	D14	2½
31 32	Vikhyath Chatrathi	735	L1	W51	L14	L48	1 2
	Morgan Scheer	723	L4	W52	L18	W55	
33 34	Chetan Godumala	717 709	L15	W53	L17	L52	1 1
35	Kyle Churchill	709	L5	W54 W20	L19 L4	L12 L11	2
36	Rivver Bonner Ikshith Godumala	679	W6 L17	W20 W55	D21	L11	2 1½
37	Derick Elliott	643	ьт <i>/</i> ь7	W55	W24	LH	2
38	Jay Larson	584	L8	L6	W24 W51	L27	1
39	Oscar Chavez	562	L9	L12	L52	L20	0
40	Julius Tognetti	107	L10	L14	L56	W54	1
41	Joseph Wei	105	L11	L19	L55	W54 L51	0
42	Mayukha Chatrathi	105	L18	L21	FWIN	L3	1
43	Matthew Fraser	unr.	W12	W10	L8	L17	2
44	Kannan Srinisavan	unr.	L13	D22	W20	L25	2 1½
45	Joseph Austin	unr.	W14	D22	W20	W19	3
46	Shreya Aleti	unr.	L16	L29	W54	L24	1
47	Daniel Lyman	unr.	W19	D15	L16	D22	2
48	DaJuan Brown	unr.	D20	D3	L26	W31	2
49	Nolan Bober	unr.	W21	D16	L15	L28	2 1½
50	Noah Leichty	unr.	W21 W22	W17	L9	L38	2
51	Andrea Palivos	unr.	W22 L23	L31	L38	W41	1
52	Heather Godsil	unr.	L24	L31	W39	W41 W33	2
53	Dillon Vannaken	unr.	L25	L33	FORF		0
54	Theodore Michlik	unr.	L26	L34	L46	L40	1
55	Sam Shaw	unr.	L27	L34	W41	L32	1
56	Victor Michlik	unr.	L27	L30	W41 W40	L32 L29	1
H	David Long	2046			W40 	W37	1
11	David Hong	2040				VV J	Т