

Chess Club Observer

Newsletter of the Springfield Chess Club Summer 2023 -- Vol. 26, No. 3

President: Leonard Ferguson Vice President: Morgan Scheer Secretary: Josh Turner Treasurer: David Long
Publicity Director: Jimmie Cecil
http://www.springfieldchessclub.com

☐ \$12 Regular ☐ \$5 Scholastic

Nathaniel Fast Wins July Tournament

Two days after a line of severe storms knocked out power in much of Springfield, the lights were back on at the Southern View Village Hall. 42 chess players came to town on July 1 to play in our latest tournament. Nathaniel Fast, of Springfield, Mo., swept the tournament with a score of 4-0 and won first place.

Scott Nelson, Jacob Rasmussen, and Kaylee Zheng scored $3\frac{1}{2}$ points and shared second place, along with first in the Class A-B and C-D divisions. Shrihan Aleti, and Veer Garg, both of Springfield, won first in Class E and below with $2\frac{1}{2}$ points.

Devon Ebken, of Illiopolis, scored 2 points and won first unrated. The club would also like to recognize two other first time participants, Noah Martin and Nigel Broomby.

Complete results of the tournament are on page 2.

Next Tournament October 28

Our next tournament will be held Saturday, October 28, at the Southern View Village Hall, 3410 S. 5th St. Registration ends at 9:45; round times are 10, 1, 3:30, and 6, with a lunch break after round 1. Entry fee is \$17 in advance, \$20 on site, with a \$2 discount to SCC members. Prize fund is \$400 based on 30 paid entries. Mark your calendars today!

Welcome New Members

Shreya Aleti, Jamai Curry, and Olga Richmiller, all of Springfield; and Nigel Broomby and Devon Ebken, both of Illiopolis, have joined the Springfield Chess Club. Welcome to the club! Membership now stands at 27.

Come join us! The Springfield Chess Club meets weekly on Wednesday evenings, 5:30-8 p.m. at the White Oaks Mall food court, and on the third Friday of each month, 6:30-8:30 p.m. at Harvest Market in West White Oaks Plaza. Meetings are canceled on holidays when the hosting facility is closed. At other times, try the online Springfield Chess Club at https://www.chess.com/club/springfield-chess-club-1 .
SCC memberships expire on December 31 (regular) or June 30 (scholastic). If your membership is expiring (check your mailing label), please renew today! To renew, return this stub and a check payable to Springfield Chess Club to: Springfield Chess Club, c/o David Long, 401 S. Illinois St., Springfield, Ill. 62704. Include any changes to your contact information. New members, please use the full page forms available at: www.springfieldchessclub.com/join.htm .

Complete Results, July 1, 2023

Rank	Name	Rating	Rd 1	Rd 2			Total
1	Nathaniel Fast	2150	W22	W13	W10	W11	4
2	Peter Michlik	1813	D24	W29	W7	L17	$2\frac{1}{2}$
3	Scott Nelson	1732	W25	D14	W12	W16	3½
4	Seth Chiles	1719	W26	W15	L11	W21	3
5	Martin Franek	1700	W27	L16	L19	HALF	$1\frac{1}{2}$
6	John Slattery	1593	W28	D17	L14	W31	2½
7	Varun Gurramkonda	1498	D29	W34	L2	L8	$1\frac{1}{2}$
8	Andrew Elliott	1469	W30	D19	L17	W7	2½
9	Noah Leichty	1461	W31	W18	L16	WЗ	3
10	Jimmie Cecil	1451	W32	W20	L1	D28	2½
11	Josh Turner	1415	W33	W43	W4	L1	3
12	Shrinidhin Senthilkumar	1401	D34	W24	L3	W15	2½
13	Isaac J. Gray	1389	W35	L1	L27		1
14	Jacob Rasmussen	1306	W36	D3	W6	W19	3½
15	John Miller	1298	W37	L4	L28	L12	1
16	Jared Dong	1267	W38	W5	W9	L3	3
17	Kaylee Zheng	1253	FWIN	D6	8 W	W2	3½
18	Andrew Riggs	1220	W40	L9	W30	W43	3
19	Shrihan Aleti	1179	W41	D8	W5	L14	2½
20	Maverick Powell	1134	W42	L10	L31	L32	1
21	Koltyn Rakes	1110	L43	W33	W37	L4	2
22	Gavin Martin	1105	L1	W35	FORF		1
23	Shrijit Senthilkumar	1093	LH	L32	D29	W36	$1\frac{1}{2}$
24	Brian Clodfelter	1054	D2	L12	D34	L33	1
25	Joyce Zheng	1051	L3	W36	W32	LH	2
26	Joseph Johnson	1022	L4	L37	W40	W35	2
27	Aaron Hong	998	L5	W38	W13	L9	2
28	Veer Garg	973	L6	W40	W15	D10	2½
29	Saketh Viswanadha	932	D7	L2	D23	L34	1
30	Vanshika Bandaru	890	L8	W41	L18	FWIN	2
31	Da Juan Brown	876	L9	W42	W20	L6	2
32	Anya Vijay	872	L10	W23	L25	W20	2
33	Rivver Bonner	871	L11	L21	W38	W24	2
34	Russ Burch	851	D12	L7	D24	W29	2
35	Derick Elliott	742	L13	L22	W42	L26	1
36	Aarav Patel	672	L14	L25	W41	L23	1
37	Sam Luker	534	L15	W26	L21	FORF	1
38	Shreya Aleti	507	L16	L27	L33	L41	0
39	Marshall F. Mitchell	368	FORF				0
40	Devansh Bandaru	131	L18	L28	L26	L42	0
41	Noah Martin	unr.	L19	L30	L36	W38	1
42	Nigel Broomby	unr.	L20	L31	L35	W40	1
43	Devon Ebken	unr.	W21	L11	FWIN	L18	2

Obituary

Club member Jim Atterberry died earlier this year at the age of 71. He was a regular at the weekly meetings from 2018-2020 and played in a few tournaments.